Pages - Menu

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

20 Questions

I haven’t been posting much but I can assure you all that I have been writing! There have been a number of personal and work related issues to sort out this summer but I hope that I can finally get back to blogging a bit and clear out the handful of incomplete blogs that I have sitting around. Things are wrapping up so hopefully my brain can focus better now.

Just for fun, I pulled out an old “20 Questions” that I had on one of my websites years back and decided to give it an update. I know it seems like more but, yes, there are only 20 questions here!

Given Name: I will simply say that I am not fond of it at all. I have a first name and a middle name. From birth I was referred to by a nickname of my middle name and around college I started using my first name instead. I now answer to both which can sometimes be confusing, especially in a mixed group of friends and family! I hope to legally change my name one day.

Birthday: End of August. I’m a Virgo/Earth Element if that means anything to anyone!

Height: 5'5" and rarely wear heels anymore so yes, I’m short!

Hair: Varying shades of brown, depending on which dye I use.

Eyes: Plain old brown... but I keep being told I have nice eyes so I guess they aren't as boring as I think they are!

Background: Apparently I am a mutt! A mix of German (this person was Jewish as well), Scottish, Irish, British, Huron, and French descent. In recent years I seem to have turned part Italian thanks to my other half as well!

Family: An only child from a broken/abusive home. Parents divorced just after my 21st birthday and I have pretty much been on my own since about a year after that.

Marital Status: Married.

Education: College background in both Social Sciences (because I had planned to become a teacher) and Multimedia Programming for Graphic Design. Started a marketing Certificate as well but never finished it.

Positive Traits: Devoted, Loving, Creative, Caring, Determined, Ambitious, Generous, Understanding, Helpful, Intelligent, Outgoing, Supportive, and Stubborn (yes this can be a good trait too).

Not-so-Positive Traits: Impatient, Temperamental, Persistent, Naive (at times), and Stubborn (ok so it's a bad trait too).

Pets: In the past I have had 6 cats, 2 dogs, 2 hamsters, as well as MANY goldfish and a few betta fish. I now have 2 cats and 2 betta fish.

Body Art: I have a total of 13 piercings and 3 tattoos (technically 4). The piercings started back in high school but the tattoos started sometime around 2002. My second one was in April 2003, cover-up October 2003, and the last one in summer 2006. When I got my first piercings and tattoos, they told me it was addictive... they were right...

Place(s) I have been: USA (Florida, Virginia, Philadelphia, Washington, Vermont and New York), Cuba (twice), British Columbia, England and my home away from home – Dominican Republic (4 times in 3 years).

Place(s) I would like to go: England again, Italy, France, Japan, Hawaii, California and New Orleans.

Pet Peeves: In NO particular order!... Parents who don't parent, babies making babies, no toilet paper or paper towels in public bathrooms, "sheep people", walking billboards, having to repeat myself because the person isn't listening, ex’s (boyfriend, girlfriend, you name it!), rude and mean people, materialistic people, doctors who got their degree from a cracker-jack box, people who hurt children, telemarketing, ignorance, selfishness... This could go on FOREVER so I will stop now!

Worst Nightmare: Waking up one morning and finding that I am back in my childhood. I may not be perfect but I have worked hard and struggled through life to get where I am. To lose all of that now would be truly horrible.

Life Philosophy: One of the greatest pleasures in life is to do what people say you cannot do. Stretch the limits, be your best, surpass your best... and then? Look back and smile in the faces of all those who said that you couldn't do it because you proved them wrong! Also, try and learn from your own mistakes, as well as the mistakes of others. Everything happens for a reason; some are for the better and others for the worse, but no matter what it can be something to learn from. People always say that bad things will never happen to them... until it does... and then it is too late. Protect yourself, respect yourself, and trust your judgment. Until you learn to do so, you will never be truly happy... so, Live, Love and Laugh!

Favorite Quote: "Quod me nutrit me destruit" (Latin for "That which nourishes me also destroys me"). And many others!

My Favorites:

Food(s): Italian, BBQ and Seafood. Oh and anything chocolate (dark and bitter chocolate truffles... Mmmmm).

Drink(s): Brown Cow (Kahlua and Milk), Pina Colada, Rum & Coke, any of those Vodka and lemonade mixes, lemonade itself, iced Tea, and any form of juice really... and milk.

Movie(s): Anne of Green Gables (sue me! I'm Canadian!), Life or Something Like It, Pirates of the Caribbean, Sliding Doors... and basically anything with Angelina Jolie or Johnny Depp seems to be something I like! I have way too many movies!

Music(s): I listen to almost everything from classical to country to pop and rock and roll!

TV Show(s): Mad About You, Friends, Gilmore Girls, The Riches, Sex and the City, Weeds, Secret Diary of a Call Girl, and cooking/reality shows.

Actor(s): Johnny Depp, Brad Pitt and Antonio Banderas

Actress(s): Angelina Jolie... and... um... I can't think of others...

Book(s): See my account at Shelfari!

Color(s): Black, Deep Reds, Pale Yellow, and almost all Pinks and Purples.

Animal(s): All cats and BIG dogs

Season(s): Fall, when all the leaves are changing colors.

Hobbies(s): Digital Art, Faeries, Web Design, Computer Games, Friends, comedy shows and concerts.

Flowers(s): Lilies (Tiger Lilies most), Daisies, Sunflowers, Orchids, or anything exotic.

Stones(s): Princess cut diamonds and rubies.